Are you 21 or older?

Are you eligible?

How to become a patient

Get a card

The first step toward becoming a medical cannabis patient is registering in your state. To help you through the process in your state, we’ve outlined the instructions below. Once you’re registered in Maryland, Massachusetts or Pennsylvania, your next step is to come into one of Liberty’s dispensary in your home state. We look forward to serving you.

MARYLAND RESIDENTS

Click here for Maryland’s official instructions on becoming a medical cannabis patient, click here for a downloadable PDF or continue reading below.

Step 1: Register as a patient with MMCC

When the Patient Registry opens in April 2017, patients must first register.

Adult Patients (18+ years of age):

  1. To prepare for registration, please review the Process Overview and Quick Reference Card for registering as a patient.
  2. Please note: Any non-Maryland resident currently in Maryland for the purpose of receiving medical treatment is eligible to register as a patient and, during registration, will be required to provide the address of and a contact name for the Maryland medical facility where the patient is receiving treatment.

Minor Patients (Under 18 years of age):

  1. Minor patients are required to have at least one caregiver assigned to their accounts at all times. Only parents or legal guardians 21 years of age and older are eligible to serve as caregivers for minor patients.
  2. Please note: Any non-Maryland resident currently in Maryland for the purpose of receiving medical treatment is eligible to register as a patient and, during registration, will be required to provide the address of and a contact name for the Maryland medical facility where the patient is receiving treatment.
  3. Caregivers must register with the Commission prior to registering the minor patient. Registering a minor patient requires additional forms, one of which must be notarized, so please review carefully the requirements in the Process Overview and Quick Reference Card documents for registering a minor patient.
  4. For additional information​ on caregivers, please visit the Caregivers page and review the Process Overview and Quick Reference Card documents for registering as a caregiver.​

For additional information on out-of-state registration requirements, please visit the Patient and Caregiver​ pages.

Step 2: Obtain a written certification from a provider registered with the Commission

Once registered, patients must obtain a valid written certification from a provider registered with the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission. The patient is required by law to have a bona fide provider-patient relationship with the provider and the provider must approve medical cannabis as a treatment option for the patient for a qualifying medical condition. Qualifying medical conditions include cachexia, anorexia, wasting syndrome, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, severe or persistent muscle spasms, glaucoma, post-traumatic stress disorder and chronic pain.

 

The Provider Registry​ is open and the Commission encourages providers to register. Any provider with an active, unrestricted license in good standing with the Maryland State Board of Physicians and actively registered to prescribe controlled substances in Maryland is eligible to register with MMCC.

When both the patient and provider are registered with MMCC, the provider will need the patient’s MMCC-issued Patient ID Number to issue the certification for medical cannabis through the Commission’s secure online application.

Step 3: Visit a licensed Maryland dispensary (once open)

After registering and obtaining a valid written certification from a registered provider, patients are able to visit licensed Maryland dispensaries (as soon as they are open for business) to purchase medical cannabis.

 

When purchasing medical cannabis at a dispensary, patients will be required to present their valid US government-issued photo ID (or MMCC ID card; please see Step 4 below for information about obtaining an ID card). The dispensary agent will verify the patient’s certification in the Commission’s database before conducting any transaction.

 

Once established and licensed, the list of licensed Maryland dispensaries and their locations will be published on this website. Patients may only purchase and obtain a maximum of a thirty-day supply of medical cannabis at one time. Please note: Once medical cannabis becomes available in the State of Maryland, a certification that is not used to purchase medical cannabis within 120 days of issuance becomes null and void.

Step 4: (Optional): Purchase ID Card (Fee: $50)

Registered patients who have obtained valid written certifications from registered providers are eligible to purchase an ID card from MMCC for a fee of $50, if they choose. Patient ID cards are optional and are currently not required in order for patients to participate in the program.

MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENTS

Click here for Massachusetts’ official instructions on becoming a medical cannabis patient or continue reading below.

Step 1: Obtain A Certification

You must first be certified by a qualified health care provider in order to register. Schedule an appointment with your health care provider. A certification is given after the patient is diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition. REGISTER WITH THE STATE You must complete your registration with the Medical Use of Marijuana Program (the “Program”). See below for ways to register. The Program reviews applications in the order they are received.

Step 2: Choose One of Two Ways to Register

Online registration through the Medical Use of Marijuana (MMJ) Online system is the fastest and most convenient way to register. For detailed instructions, please refer to this link.

 

Paper registration is available for those who are unable to register online. This is a more lengthy process. Please call the Program at (617) 660-5370 to request a paper registration form.

Step 3: Prepare the Following Prior to Registering

Note that, before registering you will need to have the following:

  1. Your PIN number
  2. Current valid form of identification (ID)
  3. Current photograph of yourself If registering online, you may be able to use your MA RMV photo during the “Upload Photo” step. Please reference the photograph instructions on the next page.
  4. A form of payment Or a proof of verified financial hardship.

Step 4: For First-time Online Registrants Only

Register with Virtual Gateway (VG): https://sso.hhs.state.ma.us/VGPortal/faces/SelfReg.jspx You will see a confirmation page (and receive an e-mail) with your username and the link to log in to VG. Be sure to keep your username and password. You will need your original username when you renew your registration. After logging in to VG, you then register with the MMJ Online System.